The Working Group


Members of the Working Group on Internet Governance have been nominated by the Secretary-General of the United Nations.   


-     Nitin Desai, Special Adviser to the Secretary-General for the World Summit on the Information Society


-       Abdullah Al-Darrab, Deputy Governor of Technical Affairs, ICT Commission of  Saudi Arabia, Riyadh

-       Carlos Alfonso, Technical Director, RIT, Rio de Janeiro


-       Peng Hwa Ang, Dean, School of Communication, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


-       Karen Banks, Director, GreenNet, Association for Progressive Communications, London

-       Faryel Beji, President and CEO, Tunisian Internet Agency, Tunis

-       Vittorio Bertola, ICANN At-large Advisory Committee, Turin


-       José Alexandre Bicalho, Member, Brazilian Internet Steering Committee; Advisor to the Board of Directors of the National Telecommunications Agency (Anatel)


-        Kangsik Cheon, Chief Operating Officer, International Business Development,Netpia, Seoul


-        Trevor Clarke, Permanent Representative of Barbados to the United Nations in Geneva  

-        Avri Doria, Technical Consultant, Providence, Rhode Island

-        William Drake, Senior Associate, International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development, Geneva; Chairman, Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility

-        Raúl Echeberría, Executive Director, LACNIC, Montevideo


-        Dev Erriah, Chairman, ICT Authority of Mauritius, Port Louis, Mauritius

-        Baher Esmat, Telecom Planning Manager, Ministry of Communications and  Information Technology of Egypt, Cairo

-        Mark Esseboom, Director of Strategy and International Affairs, Directorate General for Telecom and Post,  Ministry of Economic Affairs of the Netherlands, The Hague

-        Juan Fernandez, Coordinator of the Commission of Electronic Commerce of Cuba, Havana

-        Ayesha Hassan, Senior Policy Manager for E-Business, IT and Telecoms, International Chamber of Commerce, Paris

-        Qiheng Hu, Adviser to the Science and Technology Commission of the Ministry of Information Industry of China; Former Vice-President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing

-        Willy Jensen, Director, Norwegian Post and Telecom Authority, Oslo

-        Wolfgang Kleinwächter, Professor, International Communication Policy and Regulation, University of Aarhus

-        Jovan Kurbalija, Director, DiploFoundation, Geneva

-        Iosif Charles Legrand, Researcher, California Institute of Technology and CERN, Geneva

-        Donald MacLean, Director, MacLean Consulting, Ottawa

-        Allen Miller, Executive Director, World Information Technology and Services Alliance, Arlington, Virginia

-        Juan Carlos Moreno Solines, Executive Director, Gobierno Digital, Quito

-        Jacqueline A. Morris, Consultant, Port of Spain

-        Olivier Nana Nzépa, Coordinator, Africa Civil Society, Yaoundé

-        Alejandro Pisanty, Director of Computing Academic Services, Universidad Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico-City

-        Khalilullah Qazi, Counselor, Permanent Mission of Pakistan to the United Nations in Geneva

-        Rajashekar Ramaraj, Managing Director, Sify Limited, Chennai (formerly Madras)

-        Masaaki Sakamaki, Director, Computer Communications Division, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, Tokyo

-        Joseph Sarr, President, NTIC Commission, Dakar Regional Council, Dakar

-        Peimann Seadat, Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Iran to the United Nations in Geneva

-        Charles Sha’ban, IT Manager, Talal Abu- Ghazaleh International, Amman

-        Lyndall Shope-Mafole, Chairperson, Presidential National Commission on Information Society and Development, South Africa, Pretoria

-        Waudo Siganga, Chairman, Computer Society of Kenya, Nairobi

-        Mikhail Vladimirovich Yakushev, Director of the legal support department, Ministry of Information Technology and Communications, Russian Federation, Moscow

-        Peter Zangl, Deputy Director-General, Information Society Directorate General, European Commission, Brussels

-        Jean-Paul Zens, First Counsellor, Director of the Media and Telecom Department,  Ministry of State of Luxembourg

Click here to view short biographies of WGIG members     


Home | About |News and Events | Timeline | The Working Group | WGIG report
© Copyright 2004 Secretariat of the Working Group on Internet Governance (WGIG)